Semyon Agroskin (Russia), Fellow Passengers, oil/canvas, AR, 2019 © Semyon Agroskin

Marina Alekseeva (Russia), Disagreement, multimedia installation (still), 2019 © Marina Alekseeva

Karin Andersen (Italy/Gemany), Naughty Messy Nature, digital print, installation view (ID. ART: TECH EXHIBITION, Venice), 2014–2019 © Courtesy Traffic Gallery, Bergamo, photo by Marco Sabadin

Karin Andersen (Italy/Gemany), Naughty Messy Nature, digital print, 2014–2019 © Courtesy Traffic Gallery, Bergamo

Ludmila Belova (Russia), The Last Argument, digital photography, 2009–2017 © Ludmila Belova

Anna Frants (Russia/USA), Life is struggle, kinetic Installation, 2009 © Anna Frants

Anna Frants (Russia/USA), Made in Ancient Greece, series, Multimedia Installation, 2003–2015 © Anna Frants

Елена Губанова и Иван Говорков (Россия), Сирена, кинетический объект, 2019 © Елена Губанова и Иван Говорков

Alexandra Lerman (USA), Tree Time, video (still), 2019 © Alexandra Lerman

Ellen K Levy (USA), Re-Invention: My Life as an Astronaut, digital prints, video, AR, 2006-2019 © Ellen K Levy

Kerim Ragimov (Russia), Pietà 5, from the series Pietà, painting, video,2008 © Kerim Ragimov

Ekaterina Sysoeva (Россия), By One’s Own Laws, multimedia installation, 2019 © Ekaterina Sysoeva

Marc Lee (Switzerland), Me, Myself & I, interactive installation, performance documentation (opening performance by Sarah Hong), 2018–work in progress © Marc Lee, FILE, São Paulo

November 14–30
Exhibition project ID
Marina Gisich Gallery

Participants:
Semyon Agroskin (Russia), Fellow Passengers, 2019
Marina Alekseeva (Russia), Disagreement, 2019
Karin Andersen (Germany–Italy), Naughty Messy Nature, 2014–2018
Karin Andersen (Germany–Italy), Christian Rainer (Italy), Stranger, 2006
Ludmila Belova (Russia), The Last Argument, 2009–2017
Anna Frants (Russia–USA), Jumping Jacks; Object №3. From the series “Made in Ancient Greece”, 2009–2015
Anna Frants (Russia–USA), Life is Struggle, 2009
Elena Gubanova, Ivan Govorkov (Russia), Siren, 2019
Alexandra Lerman (USA), Tree Time, 2019
Ellen K. Levy (USA), Re-Invention: My Life as an Astronaut, 2006–2019
Marc Lee (Switzerland), Me, Myself & I, 2018 — work in progress
Kerim Ragimov (Russia), Pietà 5. From the series “Pietà”, 2008
Ekaterina Sysoeva (Russia), By One’s Own Laws, 2019

Curated by Anna Frants (Russia–USA), Elena Gubanova (Russia)

Fontanka emb. 121
Mon-Fri: 11:00 – 19:00
Sat: 12:00 – 18:00
On Saturdays, the gallery is visited by prior arrangement. Please call before your visit 8 (812) 314-43-80
Free admission

Semyon Agroskin (Russia)
Fellow Passengers
installation, 2019

Agroskin combines traditional artistic practice with actual media techniques. Sketches of bus passengers made on canvas serve as a pretext for creating the content of a multimedia project. The author devises and selects texts, music, video for each character. By pointing a tablet at a canvas fragment, the spectator sees the result of interaction between traditional art and new technologies.

Marina Alekseeva (Russia)
Disagreement
object, 2019

People’s life together in one space: the appearance and disappearance of illusions, movements, myths, beasts, and chimeras. The inevitability and swiftness of changes evoke the banal idea that life beyond this very space is also a myth, a movement, a beast, and a chimera, and that the catastrophic speed of events deprives it of a conscious sense.

Karin Andersen (Germany–Italy)
Naughty Messy Nature
digital С-print, 2014–2018
Courtesy of Traffic Gallery (Bergamo, Italy)


The co-authors of Karin Andersen are not humans but microorganisms: fungi of mold. The project is based on an experiment carried out with a simple scientific method. Small sculptures made of vegetal materials are placed in a self-built custom container in special ambient conditions. The output of the experiments is freely determined by the mold that will eventually grow after some time. Photographs of the process are taken at least once a day. The result of each experiment advances research, as the artist gradually learns about the mold’s preferences and sensitivity to temperature, light and air moisture. Every image captures a special and unrepeatable moment of constant transformation. This work is not about decomposition and vanishing, it is a celebration of the wonderful creative disorder generated by natural processes, regardless of human efforts.

Karin Andersen (Germany–Italy), Christian Rainer (Italy)
Stranger
video, 2006
Courtesy of Traffic Gallery (Bergamo, Italy)


A strange, alien being experiences Earth’s nature and human civilization. It is totally free of any kind of expectations or ideas about the places, objects and people it meets and interacts with.

Ludmila Belova (Russia)
The Last Argument
digital photography, 2009–2017

In the modern world, we constantly doubt the authenticity of images and information. Banks, businesses and government structures increasingly resort to the last method to identify human beings — their biometrics. With the advent of the digital era, the obligatory set of identification documents were supplemented by the traces of virtual presence. But if in the real world the passport is destroyed after death, nothing ever disappears from the digital one, as we know, and an avatar can live forever unless friends or relatives delete it.
“The Last Argument” examines the topic of the evidence which people could provide to authenticate their existence, when the last thing they have left is their biometrics, their DNA. Photographs of the faces of people who may be alive or dead, evoking associations with death, are actually taken at a perfectly pleasant place — a beauty parlor. Images of beauty masks that combine elements of both the living and the lifeless are a unique illustration of a hybrid world, in which the beauty of portraits will probably be judged by other aesthetic norms — if such norms exist at all.

Elena Gubanova, Ivan Govorkov (Russia)
Siren
kinetic object, 2019
Engineer Alexey Grachev
Supported by CYLAND Media Art Lab


In Greek mythology, the siren has an alluring but destructive beauty. The fatal temptation of a woman makes a man forget himself, and lose his head. In their project, Ivan Govorkov and Elena Gubanova propose an ironic version of the seductress look. Assembled from the fragments of a mannequin, a megaphone, and party wings, the artists’ woman/siren is a  decorated guillotine. A garden shovel instead of a knife falls, the wings flap, the siren wails, and the poor man’s head rolls. A timeless story.

Ellen K. Levy (USA)
Re-Invention: My Life as an Astronaut

augmented reality installation, 2006–2019

The artist’s experience with augmented reality (AR) prompted her to update scrolls she had made soon after 9/11. She built up genealogies of related inventions by tracking patent drawings from data-base references in the US Patent and Trademark Office. In her youthful fantasy of becoming an astronaut, she imagined the physiological and technological obstacles she must face to be able to succeed. This work now speaks to her own reinvention as an (older) artist engaging new AR technology.

Alexandra Lerman (USA)
Tree Time
video, 2019

“Tree Time” imagines a relationship between nature and technology unmediated by human presence. The video is filmed using a drone in the Brazilian Amazon rainforest. The camera is disembodied, floating between tree branches, hovering above the ground, and occasionally returning to it. The artificial observer notes that time in the jungle flows differently: it lacks human dimension, it cannot be measured, and there is no clarity of seasons. Instead, all processes happen simultaneously. The rainforest is like the fragile Zone of Tarkovsky’s “Stalker”, which lives by its own laws.
The title of the work is inspired by several conversations with a dendrochronologist who studies methods of tracking climate change by reading annual tree rings in the Amazon rainforest. Initially this method was developed for dating archeological artefacts, but today it is used to study the changes that human activity has introduced into the atmosphere. Nature inscribes data on human behavior into the annual tree rings just as humanity uploads the information it deems important into the cloud.

Marc Lee (Switzerland)
Me, Myself & I
interactive installation, 2018 — work in progress

“Me, Myself & I” questions egocentrism and narcissism as widespread contemporary phenomena in its most popular, infamous form: the selfie culture. The digital era emphasizes the individual who is more and more seen at the center of society, rather than being part of it. Selfishness and narcissism are now commonplace, as selfie culture shows: we send mini-me’s into the increasingly important virtual space of our society to make others aware of who we are and, most importantly, who we wish to be. Fiction, fantasies, exhibitionism, confessions, self-indulgent activities and solipsism are the motifs that could stand behind our virtual life, with the influence of corporations and media shaping our (perceived) reality and recklessly exploiting our desires and fantasies, leading us further away from reality. Life becomes a design object. This is where “Me, Myself & I” steps in and offers us an opportunity to develop new states of perception. In the virtual environment, images and reality are perceived unmistakably and unambiguously as being mutually incompatible. This helps the participant to decouple externally constructed realities from the natural environment.

Kerim Ragimov (Russia)
Pietà 5
painting, video, 2008
From the series “Pietà”


The “Pietà” project appeared in 2006 and was based on stop frames from the first film of the “Subway” series: people rise up out of the ground and step off the escalator. In the “Pietà” series, the medial meets the anthropological. Emerging from one abyss and departing for another, the ghost people convey something grandiose and at the same time frightening — but suspense, fear and anxiety also contain a revitalizing human principle. These shaky, flickering images are nothing but a reminder of the importance which we are so diligently trying to forget. The project raises vital questions: is there a need for salvation and a way out? For the artist, the answer lies in the realm of faith.

Ekaterina Sysoeva (Russia)
By One’s Own Rules
installation, 2019

The work is based on the popular art of creating and using hashtags. There are no clear-cut rules about hashtags, and this freedom has given rise to many witty, sometimes caustic or aggressive examples. Sysoeva gathers them into groups and partly rhymes them, delivering new interpretations of users’ emotions and social moods.

Anna Frants (Russia–USA)
Jumping Jacks / Object №3
multimedia installation, 2009–2015
From the series “Made in Ancient Greece”
In collaboration with CYLAND Media Art Lab


“Made in Ancient Greece” is one of the most striking and longstanding projects by the artist. Video stories from various eras are projected on ceramic vessels shaped like vases from Ancient Greece,: running athletes, frames from a family archive, scenes from modern city life… The selection of projected videos is conditioned by the nostalgic intentions of the author, and each work is a journey through an imaginary time represented by classical forms, historical images and creative associations. Known and unknown, “before” and “after”, the juxtaposition of big and small — this is what structures the works of this series.
The project is both a study and a reflection on the formal and spiritual meanings of contemporary artistic culture.

Anna Frants (Russia–USA)
Life is a Struggle
kinetic installation, 2009
Programming Sergey Komarov
In collaboration with CYLAND Media Art Lab


Our entire life is a struggle. It may take the form of a simple boxing match, or the struggle for daily bread (or vegetables) in the Soviet era, when customers would stand in line for ages at the greengrocer, with cheerful songs blaring from а loudspeaker, and the vendor would try to cheat them on the dirty old scales with rusty weights. In this installation, the viewer is given the chance to take the situation under control: by moving weights from scale to scale, to change the song, to reach a desired balance, and possibly even to emerge victorious from the fight with the vendor, who with every shortchanged gram undermined the struggling Soviet consumer.

Семен Агроскин (Россия), Попутчики, холст/масло, AR, 2019 © Семен Агроскин

Марина Алексеева (Россия), Разногласия, мультимедиа инсталляция (кадр из видео), 2019

Karin Andersen (Italy/Gemany), Naughty Messy Nature, digital print, installation view (ID. ART: TECH EXHIBITION, Venice), 2014–2019 © Courtesy Traffic Gallery, Bergamo, photo by Marco Sabadin

Karin Andersen (Italy/Gemany), Naughty Messy Nature, digital print, 2014–2019 © Courtesy Traffic Gallery, Bergamo

Людмила Белова (Россия), Последний аргумент, цифровая фотография, 2009–2017 © Людмила Белова

Анна Франц (Россия/США), Жизнь — борьба, кинетическая инсталляция, 2009 © Анна Франц

Анна Франц (Россия/США), Сделано в Древней Греции, серия, мультимедиа инсталляция, 2003–2015 © Анна Франц

Елена Губанова и Иван Говорков (Россия), Сирена, кинетический объект, 2019 © Елена Губанова и Иван Говорков

Александра Лерман (США), Древесные хроники, видео (кадр),2019 © Александра Лерман

Ellen K Levy (USA), Re-Invention: My Life as an Astronaut, digital prints, video, AR, 2006-2019 © Ellen K Levy

Керим Рагимов (Россия), Пьета 5, из серии «Пьета», живопись, видео, 2008 © Керим Рагимов

Екатерина Сысоева (Россия), По понятиям, мультимедиа инсталляция, 2019 © Екатерина Сысоева

Marc Lee (Switzerland), Me, Myself & I, interactive installation, performance documentation (opening performance by Sarah Hong), 2018–work in progress © Marc Lee, FILE, São Paulo

14 — 30 ноября
Выставочный проект ID
Галерея Марины Гисич

Участники:
Семен Агроскин (Россия), Попутчики, 2019
Марина Алексеева (Россия), Разногласия, 2019
Карин Андерсен (Германия–Италия), Озорная неряха-природа, 2014–2018
Карин Андерсен (Германия–Италия), Кристиан Райнер (Италия), Незнакомец, 2006
Людмила Белова (Россия), Последний аргумент, 2009–2017
Елена Губанова, Иван Говорков (Россия), Сирена, 2019
Эллен К. Леви (США), Перевоплощение: моя жизнь астронавта, 2006–2019
Александра Лерман (США), Древесные хроники, 2019
Марк Ли (Швейцария), Я, я и снова я, 2018 — по сей день
Керим Рагимов (Россия), Пьета 5. Из серии «Пьета», 2008
Екатерина Сысоева (Россия), По понятиям, 2019
Анна Франц (Россия–США), Ужимки и прыжки; Объект №3. Из серии «Сделано в Древней Греции», 2009–2015
Анна Франц (Россия–США), Жизнь — борьба, 2009

Кураторы Анна Франц (Россия–США), Елена Губанова (Россия)

Набережная реки Фонтанки, 121
Пн.–Пт.: 11:00 – 19:00
Сб.: 12:00 – 18:00
По субботам посещение галереи осуществляется по предварительной
договоренности. Пожалуйста, позвоните в галерею перед визитом по телефону 8 (812) 314-43-80
Вход свободный

Семен Агроскин (Россия)
Попутчики
инсталляция, 2019

Семен Агроскин соединяет традиционную художественную практику с актуальными медиаприемами. Наброски пассажиров в автобусе, сделанные на холсте, служат поводом для создания контента мультимедийного проекта. Автор додумывает и подбирает тексты, музыку, видео для каждого персонажа. Наводя планшет на фрагмент холста, зритель видит результат взаимодействия традиционного искусства с новыми технологиями.

Марина Алексеева (Россия)
Разногласия
объект, 2019

Совместная жизнь людей в одном пространстве: возникновение и исчезновение иллюзий, движений, мифов, чудовищ, химер. Неизбежность и стремительность изменений наводят на банальную мысль о том, что жизнь вне этого конкретного  пространства — тоже миф, движение, чудовище и химера, и катастрофическая скорость происходящего лишает ее осознанного смысла.

Карин Андерсен (Германия–Италия)
Озорная неряха-природа
хромогенная цифровая печать, 2014–2018
Работа предоставлена галереей Traffic (Бергамо, Италия)


Соавторами Карин Андерсен стали не люди, а микроорганизмы: грибки плесени. Проект основан на простом научном эксперименте — маленькие скульптуры из растительного материала помещаются в контейнер с особым микроклиматом. Результаты эксперимента зависят от плесени, вырастающей некоторое время спустя. Как минимум раз в день процесс фиксируется на камеру. Результат каждого эксперимента продвигает исследование вперед: автор постепенно узнает о предпочтениях плесени, ее чувствительности к температуре, свету и влажности воздуха. Каждое изображение запечатлевает особенный и неповторимый момент постоянной трансформации. Эта работа не о распаде и исчезновении, а о торжестве удивительного творческого беспорядка, порожденного природными процессами вне связи с человеческими усилиями.

Карин Андерсен (Германия–Италия), Кристиан Райнер (Италия)
Незнакомец
видео, 2006
Работа предоставлена галереей Traffic (Бергамо, Италия)


Странный инопланетный организм исследует природу Земли и человеческую цивилизацию. Он полностью свободен от каких-либо ожиданий и любых представлений о местах, объектах и людях, с которыми он встречается и вступает в контакт.

Людмила Белова (Россия)
Последний аргумент
цифровая фотография, 2009–2017

Подлинность образов и информации в современном мире повсеместно подвергается сомнению. Банки, бизнес и государственные структуры все чаще прибегают  к последнему способу идентификации человека — по его биоданным. С наступлением цифровой эпохи к обязательному набору идентификационных документов добавились следы виртуального присутствия. Только если в реальном мире после смерти паспорт уничтожается, то в цифровом, как мы знаем, ничто никуда не пропадает — и аватар может жить вечно, если родственники или друзья не предпримут дополнительных усилий.
В этом проекте автор исследует, какие доказательства подлинности своего существования человек может предъявить, когда последнее, что у него осталось в запасе, — его биоданные, его ДНК. Фотографии лиц, вызывающие ассоциации со смертью, на самом деле созданы в приятном месте — в салоне красоты. Изображения косметических масок, сочетающих элементы живого и неживого, — своеобразная иллюстрация гибридного мира, в котором красота портрета будет оцениваться на основании других эстетических норм, если таковые вообще еще останутся.

Елена Губанова, Иван Говорков (Россия)
Сирена
кинетический объект, 2019
Инженер Алексей Грачев
При поддержке медиалаборатории CYLAND


Сирена в древнегреческой мифологии представляет манящую, но губительную красоту. Гибельный соблазн женщины вынуждает мужчину забыть себя, потерять голову. Иван Говорков и Елена Губанова в своем объекте предлагают ироничную версию образа соблазнительницы. Собранная из фрагментов манекена, рупора и крыльев для вечеринок женщина-сирена в трактовке художников — это приукрашенная гильотина. Садовая лопата вместо ножа падает, крылья взмахивают, сирена взвывает, и голова несчастного катится. Вот такая вечная история.

Эллен К. Леви (США)
Перевоплощение: моя жизнь астронавта
инсталляция с дополненной реальностью, 2006–2019

Опыт работы с дополненной реальностью побудил художницу вернуться к свиткам, которыми она занималась после 9/11. Она выстроила генеалогию связанных с катастрофой изобретений, отслеживая чертежи из базы данных Ведомства по патентам и товарным знакам США. В молодости Эллен мечтала стать астронавтом и представляла физические и технологические препятствия, с которыми придется столкнуться на пути к цели. Сегодня эта работа говорит о ее собственном  перевоплощении как художницы (старшего поколения), работающей с новой технологией дополненной реальности.

Александра Лерман (США)
Древесные хроники
видео, 2019

Видео, снятое дроном в амазонских джунглях, исследует прямое взаимодействие между природой и технологией. Камера бестелесна, она парит между ветвями, зависая среди них, отрываясь от земли и опускаясь обратно. Взгляд искусственного наблюдателя замечает, что время в джунглях воспринимается иначе. Оно не течет в режиме, привычном людям. Его невозможно измерить. Здесь нет четкой смены сезонов. Все процессы происходят одновременно. Джунгли, как хрупкая Зона в «Сталкере» Тарковского, живут по своим законам.
Название работы возникло из разговоров с ученым-дендрохронологом, который исследует климатические изменения, «читая» годичные кольца деревьев Амазонии. Этот метод был разработан для определения возраста археологических находок, но сегодня используется при изучении изменений, которые человеческая деятельность внесла в атмосферу планеты. Природа записывает данные о поведении человека на древесные диски, пока люди загружают важную для них информацию в цифровые облака.

Марк Ли (Швейцария)
Я, я и снова я
интерактивная инсталляция, 2018 — по настоящее время

«Я, я и снова я» исследует эгоцентризм и нарциссизм как широко распространенное современное явление в его наиболее популярной форме — селфи-культуре. Цифровая эпоха выделяет индивида, притом скорее как центр общества, нежели его часть. Эгоизм и нарциссизм стали обычным делом, как показывает культура селфи: мы отправляем копии себя во все более значимое виртуальное пространство, давая другим людям понять, кто мы такие — и, главное, кем мы хотим быть. Выдумки, фантазии, эксгибиционизм, признания, самопотакание, солипсизм — вот мотивы, которые могут стоять за виртуальной жизнью. И добавьте к этому влияние корпораций и медиа, формирующих наше восприятие действительности и нещадно эксплуатирующих наши фантазии и желания, уводя нас все дальше от реальности. Жизнь становится объектом дизайна. Марк Ли в своей работе дает нам возможность развить новые способы восприятия. В виртуальном пространстве образы и реальность безошибочно воспринимаются как взаимоисключающие вещи. Это помогает участнику различить навязанную извне реальность и естественную среду.

Керим Рагимов (Россия)
Пьета-5
живопись, видео, 2008
Из серии «Пьета»


Проект «Пьета» появился в 2006 году и создавался по мотивам стоп-кадров из первого фильма серии «Метро»: в нем люди поднимаются из-под земли и сходят с эскалатора. В работах серии «Пьета» встречаются медиальное и антропологическое. Являющиеся нам из бездны и в бездну уходящие люди-призраки несут в себе нечто грандиозное и одновременно пугающее, однако саспенс, страх и беспокойство содержат оживляющее человеческое начало. Эти зыбкие, мерцающие образы есть не что иное, как напоминание о том важном, что мы так старательно пытаемся забыть. Сюжет рождает главные вопросы: есть ли нужда в спасении и какой-то выход? Для художника ответ лежит в области веры.

Екатерина Сысоева (Россия)
По понятиям
инсталляция, 2019

В основе работы — народное творчество по изобретению и использованию хештегов в соцсетях. В этом деле нет четких рамок, хештеги имеют свободный характер, благодаря чему появилось много остроумных, иногда едких или агрессивных примеров. Екатерина Сысоева собирает их в группы и немного рифмует, по-новому интерпретируя эмоции и социальные настроения пользователей.

Анна Франц (Россия–США)
Ужимки и прыжки/Объект №3
мультимедийная инсталляция, 2009–2015
Из серии «Сделано в Древней Греции»
В сотрудничестве с медиалабораторией CYLAND


«Сделано в Древней Греции» — один из наиболее ярких и продолжительных проектов художника. На керамические сосуды, формой напоминающие древнегреческие вазы, проецируются видеосюжеты разных времен: бегущие атлеты, кадры из семейного архива, сцены современной городской жизни… Выбор проекций обусловлен ностальгическими интенциями автора; каждое произведение — своего рода путешествие по воображаемому времени, представленному классическими формами, историческими образами, творческими ассоциациями. Известное и неизвестное, до и после, сопоставление малого и большого структурируют работы этой серии. Проект является и исследованием, и размышлением о современной художественной культуре.

Анна Франц (Россия–США)
Жизнь — борьба
кинетическая инсталляция, 2009
Программист Сергей Комаров
В сотрудничестве с медиалабораторией CYLAND


Вся наша жизнь — борьба. Это может выражаться в простом поединке на ринге или в борьбе за хлеб (или овощ) насущный в советские времена, когда, после того как вы отстояли длиннющую очередь в овощном магазине под бодрые песни из репродуктора, вас вечно норовили обвесить на допотопных грязных весах с ржавыми гирями. В этой инсталляции зрителю предоставляется возможность взять ситуацию под контроль: перемещая гири на чашах весов, изменить песню, добиться желаемого баланса и даже, возможно, выйти победителем из поединка с продавцом,  который каждым недоданным граммом подрывал силы борющегося с трудностями советского потребителя.